Coronavirus: What level every Scottish area is in under new restrictions system

Areas across Scotland have been placed in the new five-tier system of coronavirus restrictions.

Nicola Sturgeon said the rules will come into force on Monday 2 November at 6am, and be reviewed in a week.

The Scottish first minister added there have already been “encouraging signs” of COVID-19 slowing down, but that her new system should help that.

This is what each level means and which area yours is in:

Level 0

What areas are in it?


What are the rules?

This would be “the closest to normality we can safely get to without more effective treatments for COVID or a vaccine against COVID”, Ms Sturgeon said – but will still mean some restrictions.

Eight people from three households can meet indoors and most businesses can open with safety measures in place.

It is most comparable to Scotland’s situation in August when the virus was “very suppressed but still a threat”.

Level 1

What areas are in it?

Highland, Orkney, Shetland, Moray, Western Isles.

What are the rules?

Indoor household meetings are restricted to six people from two households.

This would see a “reasonable degree of normality” remain and be similar to the situation in mid-September when “cases started to rise again but prevalence was still fairly low”.

Level 2

What areas are in it?

Aberdeenshire, Aberdeen, Fife, Dumfries and Galloway, Perth and Kinross, Angus, the Borders, Argyll and Bute.

What are the rules?

This applies when transmission of the virus is higher and rising and would see limitations on hospitality businesses and no indoor gatherings allowed with people you do not live with.

Six people from two households can meet outdoors.

Pubs, bars and restaurants can sell alcohol indoors only with a main meal until 8pm.

Level 3

What areas are in it?

Inverclyde, East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, Dundee, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow, South Ayrshire, East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, Stirling, Edinburgh, Midlothian, West Lothian, East Lothian, North Lanarkshire and South Lanarkshire.

What are the rules?

This would see much of hospitality closed with alcohol sales not permitted indoors or outdoors.

Cafes, pubs and restaurants can stay open but only until 6pm to serve food and non-alcoholic drinks.

Level 4

What areas are in it? None. But Ms Strugeon said the decision to put North and South Lankarkshire in Level 3 instead of Level 4 was “borderline” and will be reviewed every day.

What are the rules?

Non-essential shops must close and it is a sign the NHS is at risk of being overwhelmed.

Six people from two households can meet outdoors and the government will seek to keep manufacturing and construction firms open.

It is the closest to the lockdown experienced during the first peak but schools will also stay open.

Source: Read Full Article